If ever you need to modify a free-text response, you can do so by pressing the pencil icon to the right of the comment.
Reasons to use this feature:
- You want to correct spelling mistakes or grammatical errors before printing the review off
- Someone has said something that you think could come off the wrong way to the reviewee
- A person was easily identifiable based on their word choice and you'd like to protect their anonymity when the reviewee eventually reads the comment
Who can use this?
- HR Administrators and Full Administrators (by default)
- Managers (only if you choose to allow them)
To change the default settings, visit Manage Account > Appraisals and Surveys and see the first section "Results Editing"
Who can see that I've edited a comment?
The reviewee can never see the timestamp showing who changed the comment and when. They will not even see the pencil marks in the first place. In general, only other admin/HR users can see that something was changed.
If you also permit managers to make changes, they too will be able to see the timestamp of who changed what and when.
To revert back to the original comment:
Press the pencil icon again and you will notice the option to switch back to the original response. The original response will always be available.